The Woman Who Lost Her Husband

It’s funny the brief encounters you make on holiday and how people will readily share a  snapshot of their lives with you. This is a bridge on the Llangollen canal at Whixall and I was struck by how lost and out of place this woman was looking. This is quite a remote place to find someone wandering around with a handbag rather than togged up in full walking/boating/farming gear.

It turned out she’d been tending to her horse nearby which had an abcess on its foot. Her husband had dropped her off and then driven off elsewhere to take their dog for a walk. However, he was nowhere to be seen and long overdue to pick her up.

Luckily 10 minutes after our conversation, a horn bipped behind me and it was the reunited couple coming along the track in their car. It turned out her husband was someone I’d waved to earlier on the opposite side of the canal. I thought he was the boat owner, but he’d just stopped to have a chat with the person who was.

The next day I heard my husband chatting to someone in the garden of the canalside cottage we were renting. It was the same guy. The locals are very friendly in North Shropshire!

